Munster announces 2014 Autocross Programme


Sharing is caring!

Pictured is 2013 Munster Autocross Champion  James Lucey slides his way to victory on a quarry autocross

The shortest route from Skibbereen  to Cork is the85 km drive along the N71.  For the Munster Autocross championship contenders the same  journey is much longer and tougher but also  more exciting. The programme for the 2014 Munster Autocross season has just been announced and the series commences with the Skibbereen MC event on Feb 16 and the final round will be hosted by Cork MC on December 27th.In between there will be visits to autocross meetings hosted by clubs like Clare, Killarney, Imokilly, BIrr,and Munster MC. There will be 9 rounds in total, of which 6 are on gravel and 3 on grass.

The 2013 Championship was won by James Lucey in his Subaru Special and he was joined on the podium by Whitby Moynan (Toyota Special) and Owen Murphy (Peugeot 206).

At the season’s end Lucey had 112 points to his credit thanks to 3wins,2 seconds and one third place. The Ballyvourney driver also clinched this series in 2005 and 2008.Moynan had a total of 108 points. The Nenagh man was top of the podium in Skibbereen and he also scored four seconds and a third place. Owen Murphy had a very busy year. The Ballincollig tyre distributor was third overall and also fastest saloon in the Munster Championship. In addition he finished runner up (by a single point) in the National Forestry in his EVo9.A foray into the British forests resulted in an excellent fourth overall in the RAC rally in the ex-Russell Brookes Sunbeam Lotus.

The 2013 class winners are:

Class 1   Denis O Brien (Nova)

Class2  Mike Casey (205)

Class 3 Ger O Shea (205)

Class 4 Austin Shinnors (Impreza)

Class 5 Brian O Mahoney (Mazda Special)

Class 6 Derek Deane (JB racing Buggy)

Class 7 (Junior) Mark O Leary (Civic)

Ladies Class Ciara Deasy (206)

Best Newcomer Mary O Shea (205)

2014 Munster Autocross Programme

16th Feb Skibbereen (LS)

25th May Clare (LS)

13th Jul Skibbereen (LS)

20th Jul Clare (GS)

3rd Aug Killarney (GS)

12th Oct Imokilly (GS)

7th Dec Birr (LS)

26th Dec Munster (LS)

27th Dec Cork (LS)