Excellence in customer care in both sales and aftersales was the basis for the 2012 Ford of Europe Chairman’s Awards, which were claimed by eight Ford dealers at a ceremony in Belfast recently. Ford Ireland Chairman and Managing Director Eddie Murphy presented awards to dealers from Dublin, Cork, Galway, Louth and Carlow.

The award recipients were:

Sales:              Cavanagh’s of Charleville, Cork         (Liam and Marie Herlihy)
Higgins Motorpark, Galway                 (Gerry and Grainne Halloran)
Byrne & Maguire Ltd, Dundalk            (Mel and Siobhan Rogers)
Smiths of Drogheda                            (Nicky and Maeve Smith)
Service:           Dooley Motors, Carlow                       (Philomena Dooley)
Lillis O’Donnell Ltd, Naas Road          (Sean and Margaret Lillis)     
Fred Kilmartin Ltd, Ballinasloe            (Teresa Kilmartin)
Parts:              Finglas Ford Centre                            (Pat and Margaret Clarke)                

The Ford of Europe Chairman’s Award programme is based on direct feedback from customers who have purchased a vehicle from the dealership and is in recognition of a dealer’s performance in meeting those customers’ expectations.  Extensive research has been carried out by Ford in assessing these expectations and providing guidelines to dealers to satisfy them.

“It’s no secret that today’s difficult market is putting strains on many in the retail sector, and it is fitting that we acknowledge those who are managing to maintain and improved standards of customer care in spite of this”, commented Eddie Murphy, Chairman and Managing Director of Ford Ireland. “Congratulations go to all the winning dealer principals and their respective sales and aftersales teams.”