Petro Systems National Forest Rally Championship Round 3.


Sharing is caring!

Lismore House Hotel Moonraker Forestry is round three of the Petro Systems National forestry Championship. It would have been round four but for the cancellation of the Birr Forestry due to lack of entries. The Moonraker is organized by the Munster Car Club and the hard working committee under the leadership of Don Montgomery have organized a very fine event.

Based in Lismore there are six smooth stages in the Cappoquin/Lismore area, with service in Cappoquin. There is a total stage distance of 66km, and each metre  will be hotly contested over such classic tests as Scart mountain and the Vee, widely regarded as one of Ireland’s most famous forest stage. The rally begins at 10.00 when the first car leaves Lismore and the winners will be on the podium at 16.30.

Top forestry drivers such as Ken Mc Kinstry, Kevin Barrett John Mc Gaffan  (all in Subaru Impreza WRC’s will do battle with championship regulars such as Pat O’Connell (Evo 9),  John Reid (Corolla WRC) and Andrew Purcell (Evo 9).

O’Connell leads the championship on 42 points by virtue of winning the first two rounds, and Reid is second with 38 points thanks finishing runner up on both events. Andrew Purcell is another driver to watch, very fast on the two rounds todate but he has been plagued with mechanical troubles. Enda Mc Nulty (35) John Mc Laughlin (33), and Michael Cuddihy (26) complete the top five places.

The classes are also very competitive in this years Petro Systems National Forestry Championship. After two rounds the class leaders are as follows:

Class 1 Andrew Fanning (Ka),  Class2 Mick Nevin (Escort),  Class 3 Mick Cuddihy (Starlet), Class4 Nigel Creagh (Escort),Class 5 Seamus O’Connell (Escort), Class 6 Enda Mc Nulty (Impreza), Class 7 John Reid (Corolla WRC),  Class 8 Pat O’Connell (Evo 9) and Class 9 James Downey (Peugeot 205).

The organizing committee have announced the following amendments to this years Petro Systems National Forestry Championship:

·         AS two counting rounds have been cancelled, the four best scores will count. This will apply to overall and class championships

·         Four bonus points will be given to competitors who start all (6) rounds.

·         The Cork Motor Club have examined the feasibility of running a two day event, but have decided to remain with a one day format- on Saturday August 15th.