Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship, 23.07.10


Sharing is caring!

Evenly matched British championship heads to Mallory Park
With four events completed and four different winners, the Quaife MSA British Rallycross Championship heads to Mallory Park for round five on August 8 with the title battle finely poised and everything to play for.
His decision to replace his ageing Escort Cosworth with a newer Focus apparently justified, Andy Grant (Barnstaple) leads the championship despite having not yet won an event. After settling into his new car in the series opener, Grant has been Mr Consistency and posted three second place finishes to climb to the top of the points board.
Another driver to switch to a more competitive car this year, David Binks (Newcastle upon Tyne) is also enjoying a strong season and claimed his first British championship event win in round four and Maasmechelen in Belgium at the start of July. The Geordie driver’s victory has helped push his Ford Fiesta ST Supercar up the points order and he now shares second place in the championship with defending champion Pat Doran (Winkleigh).
The British championship is open to drivers in the Supercar and SuperModified (two-wheel drive) classes and the next three place are currently held by the leading drivers in the SuperModified group. Mike Howlin (Haverfordwest) has moved to fourth after taking a podium finish in last month’s Belgian event in which he beat off class pace setter Julian Godfrey (Heathfield) and Jamie Lea (Wrexham).

Full supporting programme
As well as the two headlining British championship classes the Mallory Park event will feature a full supporting programme. The RX150 off-road ‘buggies’ are fast becoming a firm favourite with Rallycross fans and never fail to provide fast and furious action. Reigning champion Leo Forster continues to set the pace in the class, Tom Keet having now emerged as the most consistent challenger and having having posted three second place finishes so far in 2010.
The newly introduced Suzuki Swift Sport Championship brings the cut and thrust of one-make saloon car racing to Rallycross. The championship’s evenly matched 1600cc Suzuki Swifts are evenly matched and the class has already produced three different events winners. Dave Bellerby (Northallerton) leads the championship points scoring from Tony Lynch (Wigan) who won round three and young racer Ryan Lawford (Canterbury).
The event also includes a round of the BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship in which the points leader is Sheley Wakeling (Braintree) who has collected three class wins so far this year in her Honda Civic Type R.

Free hospitality for Swift drivers
Fans who drive a Suzuki Swift on the road are being offered the chance to join the Swift Sport Championship competitors and enjoy free hospitality at Mallory Park on August 8. To take advantage of the offer Swift owners must email the championship promoter and book their place. The offer does not include admission to the circuit but will offer Suzuki Swift owners the chance to get up close to the Swift Sport Championship and its competitors in the paddock.
Email events@swiftrallycross.com for more details