The Pony Express Formula VEE Championship 2010


Sharing is caring!

Trevor Delaney was the winner of the latest round in the Pony Express Formula VEE National Championship at Mondello Park on Sunday from series leader Ray Moore and Robert Casey.

Brain Kelly started on pole from Robbie Allen and the pair led away from the start with Delaney, Casey, and Moore in tow. Kelly stayed in front despite Allen’s best efforts over the opening laps. Delaney and Casey had the pace of the leaders. Moore had fallen back but the appearance of the safety car brought the entire field back together.

The restart saw business as usual at the front. Kelly still held off Allen but Moore managed to pass Casey. Delaney now started to attack Allen who was trying to pass Kelly at the same time. The attempted overtaking at every corner was brilliant to watch but it didn’t last. The front three tried to round Honda together. Allen on the outside was pushed onto the wet grass; unable to stop he hit Kelly at the next corner launching the leader into a multiple roll, and out of the race. Allen dropped down the order.

Delaney and Moore both swerved to the inside and took over at the front with Delaney leading. Casey and Dan Polley missed the incident and caught the leaders. Delaney pulled a gap on Moore and then maintained it over the closing laps to take his first win of the season. Moore extended his championship lead with second place, while Casey held off Polley until the end to finish third.

The VEE’s head to Anglesey, Wales in three weeks time for a double header that usually has a big influence on who wins the title.